what moisturizer should I use?

I know, I know, I need to take better care of my skin. I use a moisturizer with SFP, but it doesn’t do so well with the moisture part.

So I browsed the shelves of the nearby Whole Foods and chose a product from Avalon Organics: Ultimate Moisture Cream. It was on sale, which was a definite plus, but I also assume that Avalon products are “good” for me like the soaps and shampoos I’ve bought–they don’t have parabens, a lot of the ingredients are organic, etc.–so I chose it. But is it really “good” for me? Or rather, less bad than other options?

I checked the Environmental Working Group’s Skin Deep Cosmetic Safety Database, which focuses on toxic chemicals. It doesn’t really tell you about how effective the moisturizer is, but helps me minimize the toxic stuff.

The exact product wasn’t in the database, so I chose the one that seemed closest. It scored 4 out of 10 (moderate hazard) and it seems like a lot of the problem comes from lack of information. More helpful, however, are links to “better products”, including the 44% of facial moisturizer/treatments with lower concerns!

I will use up this 2 oz. bottle–since I can live with a 4 out of 10 score, and an important principle in my Everyday Sustainable living is to use the resources that I already have–but I will definitely consult the database next time I go skin care product shopping.

This entry was posted in everyday, health, sustainable and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to what moisturizer should I use?

  1. Emily F says:

    Thank you for this post. I just checked out a number of my products at the Environmental Working Group site. Time to cut a number out and keep some other going! Yeah for effective products with fewer side effects.

Leave a Reply

