drafty doors: plug them up

This house is drafty. It’s 90-years old. It has beautiful original but super-leaky windows. Inside doors look like they were cut to pass trays of soupy dinners.

As part of my continuing effort to increase comfort and decrease the energy bill, I made some draft dodgers. My goal was to make something that is effective, simple, pretty, and used as little new material as possible. I have a pile of remnant fabric that I keep just for this kind of creative reuse opportunity.

I based my “design” on the excellent photo-illustrated instructions from NotMartha. Please reference these instructions for more precise directions that I will supply.

Instead of making a two-sided version, my solution was a one-sided. I used a 1″ pipe insulation foam (6-foot length, $1.38 at Home Depot), which was just big enough for the giant gap. I thought about reusing something I already had–like using old T-shirts at stuffing–but I liked the elegance of this design.

I sewed a simple tube, by sewing down the long side of a fabric–which I had to extended by adding a few inches of another swatch; you’ll see the red fabric at one end in the photos below. Then flipped the fabric inside out.

After inserting the foam into the fabric tube, I tucked the ends into the tube openings. This is an easy way to “finish” the draft dodger, and gives some flexibility in fitting it into the doorframe, in case you cut the foam too short. (By the way, I did just that the first time. I recommend cutting the foam to as exact size as possible. See note on temporary fix below.)

Here it is, stopping that breezy gap. Because it’s the exact size, it “sticks” in the doorway.

The first one I made that was too short, however, moves around. I made a temporary fix by tying some ribbons and using them to pull the dd tight, from the other side of the door.

For a long-term fix, I plan to tape a small foam piece to make up the gap.

UPDATE: I taped a small piece of foam to the too-short foam, and sure enough it did the trick. The draft dodger is “stuck” in place.

This entry was posted in design, energy saving, environment, everyday, reuse, sustainable, utilities and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to drafty doors: plug them up

  1. Pingback: water: how hot is too hot? « everyday sustainable

  2. Mark says:

    One of the most effective ways of reducing green house emissions is insulationi. The Government has released it’s information about their Free Insulation Rebate for more information on the criteria see FREE INSULATION
    or download it here
    Free Insulation Guidelines

  3. Pingback: Drafty doors | Youkraft

Leave a Reply

