ESP Day 3: Water Bottle

(Posting a blog everyday is proving to be difficult.  My learning may be that this is not Everyday Sustainable for me.  Anyway, I’m going to cheat a bit and call this Day 3, even it’s being posted on Day 4.)

Klean Kanteen and Sigg water bottles

Klean Kanteen and Sigg water bottles

I like to drink lots of water, so I carry around a water bottle (almost) all the time.

There’s been so much hype these days about drinking tap water (filtered or not) and carrying around your own water bottle, rather than recycling plastic disposable bottles, or just buying bottled water. 

Personally, I’ve been carrying around tap-water-filled drinking bottles for a long time.  It probably got to be a habit when I was doing a lot of cycling and constantly filling and refilling my water bottles before, during and after rides.  I like knowing I have access to water; a security blanket role.

These days, I don’t carry around those bike bottle-carrier plastic bottles anymore, nor the Nalgene bottles I used for many years.  If I go for a bike ride, I still use the bike bottles, but for everyday use, I’ve switched to Kleen Kanteen stainless steel and Sigg aluminum bottles. 

Yes, the health safety reasons are important to me.  It does matter that Klean Kanteen and Sigg are considered among the best options.  But in terms of Everyday Sustainable, there are additional reasons I use these:

Ease of use

I bought my first Klean Kanteen about 4 years ago, when they were just getting started.  I bought the 27 oz with the sport cap.  I found that I didn’t use it for two reasons: it was too tall for the pack I was using then, and the sport cap kept leaking.  I replaced the sport cap with a flat cap.  But the turning point came with the loop cap.  Easy to hold.  Convenient to pull out from my bag or backpack pocket.  And with the Sigg, nicely designed. (More on that below.)

As for drinking out of the two bottles, I think I prefer the Sigg a little more, because of the smaller opening.  But then it’s harder to clean.

Portability

I had an 18 oz. Klean Kanteen with flat cap, but sadly, I lost it.  That was the perfect size; easy to fit in a bag and short enough to fit places: car cup holders, fanny packs, back pack side pockets. So why didn’t I replace it?  Frankly, because I was too cheap to buy another when I had the 27 oz. already.  And we humans are so adaptable.  My new backpack fits the larger bottle just fine, and the other tote I carry is just fine, too.

The 32 oz. Sigg bottle, however, is a bit fatter and doesn’t fit in the backpack pocket.  So let’s face it, it’s not Everyday Sustainable in this regard. 

Beauty

Actually, I don’t mind that my Sigg bottle is not everyday portable, because I l don’t want to risk losing such a beautiful bottle!  The beauty is why I bought it.  I don’t have anything against the Klean Kanteen–it’s a plain functional shape that works, and has a folksy logo (the original)–but Sigg bottles are everyday works of art, and that is something I value.  Who said utility has to be plain or downright ugly?  HOORAY for Sigg. 

And of course a smaller more portable Sigg would be both useful and beautiful; truly Everyday Sustainable.

Resources:

This entry was posted in Everyday Sustainable Practice (ESP), health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ESP Day 3: Water Bottle

  1. Pingback: take back the (Brita) filter « everyday sustainable

Leave a Reply

