bus maps

I’m visiting Kyoto now for a few days, and have been reminded of how much I LOVE bus maps.  And, of course, by extension, I love bus systems.  Definitely both important components of making a visit to a new city Everyday Sustainable.

This love of bus tourism started about 20 years ago when I visited Bangkok with a small group of intrepid bus takers.  With map in hand, we hopped on and off buses (including the river bus–which I HIGHLY recommend) between temples and other destinations in and around town.  Sure, once on a solo trip I found myself going what seemed the opposite way; some nice people helped me get back going the right way.  It was a mini adventure.

So it is today with a bus pass and map in hand, I can figure out the best way to go from my hotel to the Silver Pavilion Temple, in a way that is good for my legs, my wallet, my comfort (it’s raining today) and of course the air quality.  Hey, after all, I AM in KYOTO, site of the original global initiative to reduce greenhouse gases. 

Here’s a link to Public Transport in Kyoto.

This entry was posted in transportation, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

